Asian Movie Reviews Introduction

Hello, my name is Sam, and I’d like to welcome you to Asian Movie Reviews; my personal views on some of the finest Asian Cinema!

One of my many hobbies is to watch movies so I decided to share my experiences with all of you.

In the past couple of years I have become drawn towards the Asian cinema, mainly because I was becoming tired with many Hollywood movies in terms of the way the content is presented (especially in, but not restricted to, horror genres).

A lot of the time you will come across a new Hollywood release where the story is pretty predictable. Ok, ok, it is becoming more and more difficult to come up with original content, and I do agree that there are movies out there that are really good at presenting old content in a fresh and exciting way, but it is not that often you come across it.

The way I saw it was that by watching movies from other countries I would be exposed to not only different cultures, but also different perspectives on the stories and story telling techniques. Different countries create different movies that can sometimes reflect the country’s situation (i.e. economical, demographical, financial, etc) and attitudes (i.e. towards life, particular issues, etc), or even touch on subjects that may be taboo in many other countries. I decided on the Asian cinema because there are quite a few countries that produce their own movies yet have very distinct cultures and philosophies that is also reflected in their movies and provide the viewer with an insight at how others perceive certain aspects related to life.

I will be looking at movies from a variety of genres (i.e. horror, drama, romance, comedy, documentary, etc) from a few Asian countries, mainly India, Japan, Korea, and possibly China and Thailand. I plan on providing general information about the movies (i.e. director, genre, cast, etc) as well as a synopsis of the movie, my personal views on the movie (although I will try my best not to include any spoilers, however if there are any, I will let you know before hand), my rating for the movie, as well as a few other review and rating sites that can provide you with other views on the movie and also where you can get a copy of the movie.

I won’t be taking any requests at the moment, but please feel free to leave any comments, and if you want to get in touch with me my email is asianmoviereviews@yahoo.com

I hope you enjoy the site!

Leave a Reply

